Board of Education Minutes – June 28, 2021

A regular meeting of the Board of Education of the Menominee County Intermediate School District was called to order by President Kandace Curran at 5:00 pm at the Menominee County ISD, Menominee, Michigan.

The pledge of allegiance was recited.

Members present: Kandace Curran, Ed Jenkins, Carol Pipkorn, Michael Cattani, Stephanie Meck (Stephanie joined virtually and did not vote)

Members absent: None

Moved by Mrs. Pipkorn supported by Mr. Cattani to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Jenkins supported by Mrs. Pipkorn to approve the meeting minutes of May 17, 2021, as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Curran provided an opportunity for public comment.

Extended COVID-19 Learning Plan: (see attached document)

Supt. Steve Martin provided updates to the board regarding how Instruction is going to be delivered during the 2020-21 school year, reviewed key metrics and changes recommended for instructional delivery. Also reviewed 2-way interaction (attendance) rates. Steve Martin provided an opportunity for public comment on the Extended COVID-19 Learning Plan.

Moved by Mr. Cattani supported by Mrs. Pipkorn to approve the MCISD Extended COVID-19 Learning Plan for 2020-21. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mrs. Pipkorn supported by Mr. Cattani to approve the final revised 2020-2021 budget resolution. Motion carried unanimously.

2021-2022 Budget Hearing: Superintendent Steve Martin discussed documents, resolutions, and provided an opportunity for input from the public.

Moved by Mr. Jenkins supported by Mr. Cattani to adopt the 2021-2022 budget resolution as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Superintendent Steve Martin presented Ed Jenkins with a U.P. plaque/sign and thanked him for his 28 years of service to the MCISD Board.

Discussion: The July Board meeting date was changed from July 26th to July 12th.

Moved by Mrs. Pipkorn supported by Mr. Jenkins to approve the following items:

1. Approval of the late May, the regular June bills, and the hand-drawn checks for late May and early June.

Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Cattani supported by Mrs. Pipkorn to approve the changes to the Employment Guide for Non-represented Employees for 2021-2023. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Cattani supported by Mrs. Pipkorn to approve the GSRP Handbook with corrections. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Jenkins supported by Mr. Cattani to approve the administrator contracts: for Steve Martin, Mary Stein, Kevin Karkkainen. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mrs. Pipkorn supported by Mr. Jenkins to approve the contracts for the non-represented salary staff: Jessica Arkens, Mary Bauer, Estella Farnsworth, Cindy Grabowski, Sarah Hanson, Cara Kalafut, Karianne Lesperance, Claire MacArthur, Jennifer MacDonald, Michael Malone, Janene Salewsky, Jan Smith, Eric Sevon, Becky Marciniak, Ashley Karkkainen, Denise Spink, Kayla Van Straten, Jordyn Nicklaus, Anne Stefanov. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Cattani supported by Mrs. Pipkorn to approve the contracts for the Independent contractors: Carol Bergquist, Joan Freis, Fabiola Becerra, Cindi Walker. Motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Curran provided an opportunity for public comment.

Moved by Mr. Jenkins supported by Mrs. Pipkorn to adjourn at 6:04 pm. Motion carried unanimously.

Michael Cattani Secretary